Music, books, and personal thoughts on life

Keep Calm and Listen to Symphonic Metal

I really love symphonic/gothic metal right now!  I stopped listening to it a few years ago due to some personal issues.  I have finally been able to start listening to it again over the past year.  It feels great to listen to it again and feel the raw emotions!  (I just woke up so I might start to repeat myself. :D) 

In 2006, while I was going through my divorce, I started to get sick of the pop/rock music I had listened to for years.  I was tired of being happy and acting like everything was fine.  It was a bit of a challenge for me to move back home with my parents and having my mom tell me how I should raise Bailey.  Anyway, so one day I started listening to Evanescence for the hell of it.  I was hooked after the first few songs and so forth.  I met other Ev fans and one of them introduced me to symphonic metal.  I had already listened to Within Temptation and loved their sound.  She sent me YouTube links to Epica and After Forever….turned me into a fan.  Flash forward to 2012, I picked back up listening to symphonic metal.  One of the first bands I listened to was Delain.  Oh my gosh, I was in love!  Their lyrics and music just captivated me.  I dove into their music and have spent my time dissecting it.  I am someone who loves to evaluate layers of music in songs.  I then started to listen to Within Temptation again and discovered other bands.  Nightwish, Leaves’ Eyes, Amberian Dawn, Lunatica, and Fairyland, Nemesea, Dead By April, Amaranthe and April Divine are to name a few.
I’m not a big fan of the ‘death grunts’ so I stay away from some of the bands that use it. 

The Nightwish sound I like is from the Anette time frame.  Her voice just brought them to a different level in vocal style.  Tarja is very good, but sometimes her voice can get a bit redundant to me.  I’m glad though that Anette and Tarja have gone out on their own.  They deserve to be happy.  Nemesea as well as Delain’s music has been helping my brain release huge doses of dopamine, which has helped me in my writing.

So there you have it!  Now you know what kind of music I currently like!  I do switch between pop/rock and metal from time to time, but metal feels more real to me.  Maybe take a chance to listen to some of these band a some point.  You never know, you just might become a fan as well!

One response

  1. I hope that Nightwish can finally settle down with Floor Jansen. The Wacken dvd looks like they’ve really found someone who has the best qualities of both Olzen and Turunen.

    01/24/2014 at 4:55 am

Leave a Reply

