Music, books, and personal thoughts on life

Nemesea

I know I have written my thoughts on Nemesea’s albums and how I interpret the lyrics in my own way.  I could write a little history lesson about them, but I don’t want to get facts wrong and such.  It’s hard to believe that in a few months it will be a year since I discovered them on Spotify.  The 8th of May 2013, the first Nemesea song I heard was “The Way I Feel”.  I was standing in my parents’ kitchen folding my laundry when it came on.  I went back through what had just played and found the name of the band. Being the research freak I am, I started looking up information about them  such as their location, discography, band members, etc.
I felt like I could relate to many of the songs because of going through some of the emotions expressed in them.  They are the second band in my lifetime that caught my attention and held on to it.  For me, their music is addicting and I never get tired of it.  There are times when I’m writing my book that I will start off listening to Mana and end with The Quiet Resistance.  Manda’s voice is so powerful and full of emotion that it has moved me to tears at times.  HJ can play the hell out of a guitar and make me want to grab a lighter to hold up in the air when he does his solos.  Sonny is one hell of a bass player and can keep the crowd engaged when he does his solos.  The way Lasse has the electro sound arranged is total genius!  His song ‘2012’ on The Quiet Resistance is a kick ass instrumental and the arrangement is awesome.  Frank’s style of drumming fits well with Nemesea and has an ‘in your face’ sound that I like.  Nemesea has added something good to my life and I’m sure others could say the same.  When I was living in a ghetto apartment complex last year, I almost lost my sanity because of the environment I was in.  When I got stressed, I would play Nemesea on my iPod and forgot about the bad stuff going on around me.  Their music helped me escape from the noise of violent people who lived below me.  During the summer, I listened to them as I mowed my parents’ yard every weekend and had ideas for my book sparked off while doing that.  Yes, I do listen to other bands and not just them.  Currently I’m listening to Zedd, 2 Brothers on The 4th Floor, Fallout Boy, Panic At The Disco and Anette Olzon.  Nemesea is pretty f**king awesome and I hope others will discover them as well, and become fans.

Leave a Reply

