Music, books, and personal thoughts on life

I’d Throw My Pie For Alex Vause

alex_vause5 Alex Vause (Laura Prepon) from Orange Is The New Black

 

A couple of weeks ago, I sat down and binged on Orange Is The New Black over a weekend.  I fell in love with the show after watching the first episode.  When I saw the character Alex Vause for the first time, I had to pick my jaw up off of the floor.  The vibe of badass radiated off of her and I wanted to know more about her than Piper.  Yes, I know that she is just a fictional character on TV, but who hasn’t had a crush on a fictional character.  Everyone has one or a few characters they identify with on a TV show, movies and books.  So why am I so interested in Alex?  Aside from her being so attractive, she doesn’t tiptoe around things.  She is pretty straight forward and to the point.  I like people who don’t try to sugarcoat the truth on things and are comfortable within their own skin.  She stands up for what she believes in and will fight for it.  Yeah, she has a way of getting what she wants.  She needed that crafty manipulation to recruit drug mules to run her drug cartel.  She also has a way with seduction that just pulls someone in.  She seduced Piper, but fell in love with her instead of making her a drug mule.  When I saw the flashback on one part of her life as a kid, I understood why she has a tough exterior and doesn’t take shit from anyone.  To be bullied and put down by girls who grew up thinking they were better than anyone can have a lifelong effect on someone’s life.  However, she does have a softer side, and I saw that when she was talking to Nikki in the prison library and laundry room.  I could see how much she loved and cared about Piper, even though Piper broke her fucking heart when shit got real.  The way she was treated by her in the latter part of their relationship, IMO, was complete crap.  Piper could have offered to do something for Alex to help her relax or get her mind off of what was stressing her out.  Instead, she chose to break up with her and run away back to the U.S.  The risky life Alex was involved in wasn’t a good environment for romance, but she wanted to share her life with someone she loved and cared about. My heart broke for Alex when Piper wouldn’t even go with her to her mother’s funeral.  That was just complete and utter crap to do that to someone who lost a loved one.  If Alex were real, I think she and I could be friends or maybe more than that.  I would treat her with much more respect and loyalty than Piper did.  I would have gone with her to her mother’s funeral.  I would have tried to reason with her about some other things, but I wouldn’t run away when shit got real.  In the end, I would throw my pie for her.

Team Alex

Leave a Reply

