Music, books, and personal thoughts on life

Ace of Base Led Me To Göteborg, Sweden

Ace of Base Led Me To Göteborg, Sweden

                                            Ace+of+Base+From+The+Sign+Video

Goteborg

Back in fall of 1993, when I was 12 years old, a former neighbor came to visit my family.  He had a mix tape with him that had some of his favorite songs on it.  One of the songs on there caught my attention with a reggae beat and a flute sound playing at the beginning.  I asked him what the name of the song was and he said, “All That She Wants by Ace of Base.”  After I heard it, I was hooked.  It wasn’t until March of 1994 when I was able to buy AOB’s album.  I drove my parents crazy playing the CD over and over in my room, and going around the house singing the songs.  In 1994, the Internet was in its infancy age, so there was no way I could find out where AOB was from.  My only source for artists information was MTV.  When I found out the band was from Sweden, I wanted to find out everything I could about it.  Before Encarta ’95, the coolest CD-ROM encyclopedia back in the ’90s, I had to look up information about Sweden in a 1977 encyclopedia book.  Yeah, my parents were a little behind in keeping up-to-date educational materials around (note the sarcastic tone).  Soon I found out the name of the city that AOB called home- Göteborg or for English speakers, Gothenburg.  I found what information I could about the city and craved to know more about it.  Around the time I was researching information about Sweden and Göteborg, I had an idea that popped into my head to write a story that took place there.  Over the past 20 years I have continued to learn about Sweden and Göteborg.  The more I learn about the city, the more I fall in love with it.  There is something magical about Göteborg that keeps pulling me in.

Thank you Ace of Base for your music, introducing me to Sweden, and to ‘Little Liverpool’, Göteborg!

Leave a Reply

